13 Dec Window Tinting Legal Limits California
California`s car window tint laws were enacted in 1999. We have provided all the necessary information about the tint of your car`s windows, including the degree of darkness or reflection allowed in your condition. There are also additional rules and regulations for tinting car windows in California, so be sure to read all below. In summary, it`s important to know California`s tinting laws when you let your car`s windows dye. The law is in place to ensure the safety of drivers and passengers, so follow it. If you have any questions about the law or want your windows to be tinted, consult a professional. Failure to comply with California window tint laws may result in a traffic stop. You can be fired with a strike, you can get a low-cost ticket that orders corrections for a second violation, and a third violation could get you fined about $200. The VLT is only part of the concern about windows at the front of the car, truck or van. The thinking problem mentioned above is important and unfortunately somewhat subjective.
In particular, your windshield should not have a tint that produces “more reflection” visible through ordinary untreated glass. Reflectivity is just one problem. California law states that you cannot use film that changes the “natural” color of the window. No amber, tinted, red, silver or other color-changing film can be legally applied to a window of a motor vehicle in California. Note that California laws and regulations on hue may be interpreted differently in your county or place of residence. We always recommend that you review our information with your local VDM or law enforcement agencies. For a vehicle`s windshield and front side windows to be considered a legal window tint, California law states that the windshield must only have a transparent tint strip on the top 4 or 5 inches and that at least 70 percent of the light must be able to penetrate the tint on the front side windows. These restrictions and tint regulations apply to all types of vehicles. Whether you drive a sedan, SUV, van or truck, you will have to comply with these regulations or you could be fined and required to remove the illegal tint.
California car owners could receive a document or letter signed by a board-certified dermatologist, optician, physician, or surgeon stating that they need a window tint to protect them from the sun because they have a serious illness. Car owners typically submit the letter or document to the California Department of Motor Vehicles with their application for a window tint exemption and are allowed to use window tint or other device to circumvent California`s window tint law. Changes to California`s dyeing law for 2017 state that if you have a medical certificate, you can get additional window tints on your car. This also applies to the 2021 laws. Motorists in California who have tinted windows on their vehicles must have a certificate signed by the tint film manufacturer or tint installation company clearly stating the VLT percentage of the dye film. The certificate must contain the name and address of the manufacturer of the tinted film. Manufacturers of tinted films must also certify the film in California before they can get permission to sell it there. The driver of a vehicle with tinted windows must have the certificate on board the vehicle. State law also requires companies that install dye films to provide the vehicle owner with a sticker or certificate with their name and address. The State of California has very specific laws regarding the tint of your car windows. Each state in the U.S.
has its own percentage of obscurity and reflection that your car windows are allowed to have, as well as other specific regulations that you may need to be aware of. Below you will find all the relevant information about tinted windows in California. • Windshield: 70% VLT• Rear windows: Any ALV allowed• Rear windows: All ALV allowed• Windshield: maximum strip of 5 inches on the top of the windshield• Reflectivity: Non-reflective than standard car windows• Other restrictions: Red, amber and blue hues are not allowed, and double side mirrors are required for cars with tinted rear windows It is also stipulated in the law that the installed after these medical exemptions Tint window not used in the dark. This seems to imply that your car may be rendered unusable, or at least illegal, for night driving. Only a clear, colorless, transparent film can be applied to your windshield and windshield in accordance with California`s California window tint medical exemption rules. Please note that the accuracy, completeness, relevance or timeliness of the content is not guaranteed. We are not lawyers or law firms and do not provide legal advice. We recommend that you consult a lawyer or other appropriate professional if you wish to obtain legal advice. You are required to have the physical-medical exemption with you in your vehicle at all times if you have a tint of windows on the side windows on the front seat or on the windshield. VLT window tint ratings don`t matter to passenger-side rear windows, and while the rear window can also have any VLT rating, if your rear windows are tinted, you may need to install side mirrors on the vehicle to comply with California laws.
Violations of California`s window tint laws will be subject to additional penalties. The first offence is punishable by a $25 fine and an order to remove the offending tint. However, they could face a violation and a fine of up to $197. On the plus side, the state won`t deduct points from your driving record for tint violations. The Californian statue that regulates the tint of the windows is the vehicle code 26708. It prohibits automobile owners and drivers from placing materials or objects on the windshield, side or rear windows that obstruct the driver`s view. When it comes to the tint of the windshield and driver`s side windows, California police are pretty strict about enforcing the dyeing law. Vehicles must not have stickers or other decorations on their front side windows. The law states that teared, sparkling or worn window tint films that may obstruct the driver`s view are prohibited and must be repaired or removed. The California Window Tint Act 2022 states that the windshield and front side windows can have a glass tint rated at 70% VLT. This means that the hue lets in 70% of the available light into the window. For front windows, nothing below 88% is allowed.
However, if you use a replacement film on factory-tinted windows, you will get a VLT rating of 70%. For example, if your window tint is above the legal limit and someone hits you, you may still be charged a percentage of the error if it is determined that the excessive tint has affected your visibility. This, in turn, could affect the damages awarded to you. Tinted windows also affect regulations for other aspects of the vehicle. These include side mirrors, hue colours and colour documentation. These regulations are designed to ensure visibility and compliance with state laws. The tint of windows can reflect incident light and reduce glare and heat. California`s window tint law allows for some window reflection when using a tint, so pay attention to that as well. If the rear window of your car is tinted, you should have two side mirrors on your vehicle. The amount of light that can pass through your car`s windows is measured as a percentage (called VLT), so make sure your tinted film meets these standards.